Check out upcoming workshops and events!

Playing with Possibility: Navigating the Challenges and Celebrating the Joys of Gender Freedom

Event Date:

June 20, 2023

Event Time:

11:00 am

Are you looking to help the transgender and non-binary individuals in your practice move from surviving to thriving? This powerful session will expand your knowledge and understanding of gender freedom, diving into critical concepts and best practices for connecting with and supporting gender-diverse individuals in your clinical practice through the lens of the Gender Freedom Model. We’ll review the not-so-basics of diversity of gender identities, including gender spectrums and fluidity, and explore how gender biases and roles have limited us all. This workshop applies current research in facilitative coping mechanisms to individuals in the process of transitioning their gender in order to help our clients transition with more ease. 

By learning practical skills for helping clients make decisions about how to express their gender to the world, we will begin the conversation about how to change the narrative and experience of transition into a process of play, pleasure, and possibility.

Workshop Objectives

  1. Participants will be able to describe spectrums of gender diversity
  2. Participants will be able to describe a research-based, strengths-based approach to supporting transgender/non-binary clients during gender transition
  3. Participants will be able to list the differences between facilitative and avoidant coping strategies

 

About the Speaker

Rae McDaniel (they/them) is a non-binary Speaker, Author, Therapist, Certified Sex Therapist, Coach, and Transgender Diversity and Inclusion Educator. Rae helps audiences gain the sheer audacity to be themselves in the world through play, pleasure, and possibility. 

Their book Gender Magic is a first-of-its-kind practical guide to achieving gender freedom with joy, curiosity, and pleasure for transgender and non-binary individuals, gender explorers, and those who love them (May 2023.) They have been featured in high-profile media such as The New York Times, The Chicago Tribune, Time, and Women’s Health. As a sought-after professional speaker, Rae has spoken at Rutgers University, the University of Chicago, the University of Illinois Chicago, Soho House, The Wing, and Rachel’s Rodgers’ ROI: The Millionaires Summit. Rae is also the founder and CEO of Practical Audacity, a Gender & Sex Therapy practice in Chicago, serving over 300 clients yearly. When Rae isn’t educating audiences and bettering the world, they can be found drinking too much coffee, snuggling with their dog Gizmo (who might actually be a gremlin), or sipping whiskey with a good book. 

 

About Gender Magic

A first-of-its-kind practical guide to achieving gender freedom with joy, curiosity, and pleasure for transgender and non-binary individuals, gender explorers, and those who love them—perfect for readers of The Body is Not an Apology and Pleasure Activism  

Taking everything they know from more than a decade of working with the queer and trans community, their personal journey of gender exploration, and clinical best practices, licensed therapist, coach, and speaker Rae McDaniel created the Gender Freedom Model. A uniquely supportive narrative for gender exploration and transition grounded in queer joy, their nine-pillar model has helped thousands of transgender and nonbinary individuals explore gender through play, pleasure, and freedom. And now, it can help you too. 

Whether you’re transgender, non-binary, cisgender, or still exploring this compassionate and practical guide will help you experience your gender in new, expansive ways by teaching:

  • How to move from anxiety, self-doubt, and fear to a confident, proactive state of mind.
  • How to navigate discomfort and celebrate your inherent worth as you develop genuine self-love.
  • How to design relationships, community, and a sex life that lights you up.
  • Practical tools to align your gender identity and expression with your most authentic self through play, pleasure, and possibility. 

Brimming with warmth, celebration, and practical advice Gender Magic is essential reading for anyone who yearns to step into their fullest self and imagine a life beyond gender binaries. Because you—yes YOU—are magic. 

 

$10 discount off the base cost is provided for those who provide a receipt of purchase for the book. Please email info@chicagominds.co for the discount code. 

 

Purchase Links

Hachette Book Group

Amazon 

Barnes & Noble 

Books-A-Million

Bookshop 

Target 

Walmart

 

Social Media

Instagram: @theraemcdaniel and @practicalaudacity

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/raemcdanielgendermagic

 

  • Workshop participants who opt to receive CE certification, please select the CEU option under “Extra Service”. This workshop fulfills the requirements for 1.5 CE credits. CE sponsorship is approved by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR), credits are applicable to LCSW and transferrable to LCPC in Illinois. If you have a different licensure or are licensed outside of Illinois, please check with your licensure body before purchasing. 
  • Please note that we require your live attendance in order to issue CE certificates. If you are unable to attend live, please let us know at least 24 hours before the event.
Sorry, this event is expired and no longer available.

Event FAQs

Cancellation Policy

Cancellations made 24 hours or more in advance of the event date will receive a 100% refund. Cancellations made on the day of the event will not be refunded. Please email us at info@chicagominds.co to cancel your registration.

Registration for CEU's


This workshop fulfills the requirements for 1.5 CE credits. CE sponsorship is approved by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR), and credits are applicable to LCSW and transferrable to LCPC in Illinois. If you have a different licensure or are licensed outside of Illinois, please check with your licensure body before purchasing.




 



Please note that we require your live attendance in order to issue CE certificates. If you are unable to attend live, please let us know at least 24 hours before the event.

 



Please enter your licensure information in the Google form provided in our follow-up email to ensure the prompt issue of CE certificates after the workshop.

Event Schedule Details

  • June 20, 2023 11:00 am   -   12:30 pm
Share This Event
ADD TO YOUR CALENDAR

Enter your name and email and get on our newsletter to stay up on the Chicago Minds community.

* indicates required

Your information will *never* be shared or sold to a 3rd party.